Quick Enquiry
Perth and Gold Coast in Regional Classification to Attract Skilled Professionals

Perth and Gold Coast in Regional Classification to Attract Skilled Professionals

The Immigration minister has announced reclassification of the Gold Coast and Perth as regional areas with the aim of attracting many regional migrants.

Additionally after this change the list of regional areas now has:

• Gold Coast 

• Perth

• Sunshine Coast

• Geelong

• Lake Macquarie

• Illawarra

• Newcastle

• Wollongong

• Adelaide

• Canberra

• Hobart 

Before Perth and Gold Coast, Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane were regarded as metropolitan areas in the migration classification of the federal government.

Perth and Gold Coast had made submissions for classification as regional Australia to the federal government. This measure will facilitate easy migration to Perth and Gold Coast among the skilled workers and international students. This is also a significant change for skilled workers who are applying for a new regional visa that commences on 16th November 2019. These are:

1) Skilled Work Regional visa in subclass 491 and

2) Skilled Employer Sponsored Regional visa in subclass 494

It will also increase significantly the number of jobs business owners can seek for sponsoring foreign workers. It will also benefit students who get:

1) Additional 5 points in point-grid of the skilled visa when they studying in a regional area

2) Additional one year for the graduates in 485 visas

Also, the regional classification of Gold Coast and Perth will improve their capacity in attracting international students and skilled workers from overseas.  It is a measure for businesses to source skilled overseas workers. In March 2019, the Government announced reduction in the cap for permanent migration to 160,000 from 190,000 and also set aside as many as 23,000 places in the category of regional visas.

Subsequent to unparalleled growth of 124 percent in regional visas during the first quarter of program year, the Government increased the regional places to 25,000.

Migration Definitions

Migration definitions in Adelaide, Perth, Gold Coast, Canberra, Sunshine Coast, Newcastle, Wollongong, Lake Macquarie, Illawarra, Hobart and Geelong, have the Regional incentives where there is Access to 25,000 regional places and a  Priority in processing of regional visas. 

The List of Regional Occupations has more jobs when compared to lists in non-regional areas. International students who study in regional universities are eligible to get additional year in the country on the post-study work visa. For All other locations there is a Priority in negotiating Designated Area Migration Agreements that are specific to a region.

We bring all the trending news and our patrons can contact us.

Share your Comments
Please Login to view/submit Comments & Replys